If You’ve Got A Grandma, You don’t need Santa!

Christmas Lights

This Christmas will be WAY happier for me than last years Gray Christmas.

How do I know? Because I will be with my girls this year. When I say “my girls” I’m talking about my daughter and her two daughters, in case somehow you missed their mention in previous posts. (welcome newcomer 😉 )

I have spent hours wrapping gifts and I’m only 1/2 done with all the things I got for my girls. Hubby may pass out when the Visa bill comes, but I’ll worry about that next year. If he complains I will have to remind him (again) that it’s his toys that cost the most around here. But that’s a whole different story…

Those who know hubby and I have 2 boys might be thinking, “Hey! What about the boys?”. Don’t worry. They are not forgotten. We usually celebrate with them after the actual holiday so we can have them to ourselves (long story). We like to stay up late and play cards, which is an option because the guys have not seen fit to provide any grandchildren for me to spoil. Just sayin’.

Because of the visions of sugar plums and all that dancing through my head this week I doubt there will be room for any inspirational writing to post, so I will pass along my sincere wishes for everyone now. Since I’m in the neighborhood anyway.

Here’s wishing snow, family, toys, and whatever brings you  Christmas happiness!!

Christmas Lights

My Train of Thought

has derailed.

It’s December 16th (oops – it’s past my bedtime!),  17th. In the beginning of the month I started shopping & wrapping. I started sending cards. I started baking. Why am I not finished with any of these things?

It’s not like I’m too busy writing blog posts. I have several drafts staring at me when I log into my dashboard. They suck, so (count your blessings) you won’t see them anytime soon.

What have I been doing instead of these very important things?  Honestly? I keep getting distracted on the way to doing them.  I just  wanted to check my email, then work on the cards. After spending 10 minutes deleting the spam, and another 30 minutes reading my real mail, I made the mistake of catching up on my favorite blogs. 2 1/2 hours later… I am too tired to do any cards, baking, or whatever. Don’t get me wrong – I have a lot of fun and laughs reading the posts of these prolific and talented writers. Which causes the problem in the first place.

On the way to wrapping gifts I need to clear off the kitchen counter. I wrap there because it’s the perfect height for me to work on. This leads to putting this and that away, loading the dishwasher, and wiping down the stove. I never brought out the wrapping paper or ribbons, so I forget my original plan to wrap gifts and I make cookie dough.

Only God knows what I will accomplish tomorrow  today!

Hey! Girls Like Football Too

Dang, that 2nd half sucked yesterday! Not if you were a Cardinal’s fan I suppose.  But I have every confidence that coach Harbaugh and the Niner’s will learn from their mistakes, get Patrick Willis healthy again, and be a major force for the Steeler’s to reckon with next Monday. I mean MAJOR FORCE!

Being the 49er fan that I am, I could not resist outfitting my granddaughters with NFL approved winter sportswear.  I don’t even have cool winter sportswear. I do have an official 50th anniversary 49er’s jersey, however.  I got it when I tried out for the team. Well, kinda. But that’s not the point…

When I was at the check stand  (if your store sponsored me, it could be plugged here…) the clerk says, “Your grandson’s will love these!”. I smiled and corrected her, saying “I have granddaughters”.  The clerk, a girl herself, seemed shocked and didn’t say another word to me.

As I drove home I heard on the radio (your station could be here…) about their fabulous 49er game coverage coming up and then adding “Guys!  Stay tuned for how to win tickets to Monday night’s game against the Steeler’s”. Only a minor irritation compared to television.

Hey! All you major networks (your network , etc….) out there. You need to find other sponsors for Football games. There’s a lot more to life than Big Ass Trucks and Beer. And please up the level of intelligence on the advertisements. Especially the holiday ones. Just because we watch football does not mean we have low IQ’s!

There.

I feel better now.