Negative Rooting, Like Crime, Doesn’t Pay

It was a good idea at the time. Too bad it didn’t work.

If you’ve ever been here (this blog) before, you know I am a raving 49er Fan, so why did I throw a playoff game party? And even worse than that… we rooted for the Green Bay Packers. It made me feel trashy and disloyal.

Have I lost my mind?  I know, it goes against my cheese-head hating self, but the bottom line is – we didn’t want the Seahawks going to the Super Bowl. Those guys are too damn cocky. They are a helluva good team and everyone knows it. They don’t need to be cocky. But yet, they are.

It was a good plan, a good party & fun with family. I’m very happy I did not bet on that game.  Those Seahawks will be going to the super bowl again.  And there is nothing you or I can do about it.

Dirty Look
Say It Isn’t So!!

I sure was hoping that the Colts could keep ahead of the Patriots, for the game. Coach for the Patriots must have gotten his team worked up at half time. I would suspect a powerful and moving pep-talk or something, however, that’s old school now. The new school is tampering. Tampering with scholarships, favors, yada-yada. And now on the Fox News I find out someone is tampering with the balls.  Just removing some air from the footballs – enough to make the balls more supple, allegedly, this makes the throwing and receiving of the ball easier.  Of course, this completely screws the team’s place kicker & punter – because deflated balls have no lift.

Trust me on that.

What I don’t understand is – why these playoff balls aren’t kept away from both teams by the NFL.  The balls, picked out by each team, get weighed and measured by officials, then they are given to the Ball Boys (who, BTW, work for the Stadium). That is a lot of opportunity for evil forces to tamper with the balls before the game. Who “ball sits” during the game and at half-time? Do they stay with the ball boys, referees, team staff?  This Enquiring mind wants to know.

Wouldn’t there be a chance that the balls could get mixed up? And the Colts would get a flattish* ball?  Wait a minute – wasn’t there a messed up Field Goal attempt by the Colts?  Hmmm.  And why are teams allowed to manage their own balls?  Shouldn’t this be done by the NFL, to prevent just this sort of thing from happening?  Sheesh.

The Pat’s won the AFC championship and they are going to the Super Bowl. Too bad the only questions reporters are asking, have to do with what they are calling Deflate-Gate.

Personally, I am suspicious that the game balls were tested after the game. It doesn’t sound like a normal procedure to me. So… balls were inspected after the football game was over. On whose request? Someone knew something fishy was going on. Somebody tattled. Vows to “get to the bottom of this” are made. Songs are being written using “who let the air out?” in the lyrics, replacing “dogs”.

It reminds me of High School.

 

* flattish [flat esh]; adv. somewhat flat  [no lie, this definition is in the Webster’s Dictionary.  Hee Hee.

Is Your Puppy Taller Than You Thought?

I’m sorry if I have disappointed these past few weeks. No posts because other things keep popping up and there are only 24-hours a day. I have no new photos either, because, well…

My puppy is taller than I thought.

It’s like Ziva’s legs grow a 1/2 inch a day.  Last week only her nose came up to the patio table. This week she can see what is on the table, and pluck it right off.

NewCamera-1

Unfortunately, my new camera, was too close to the edge of our patio table. And when Ziva got to be uncontrollable (every evening around 5:00pm) she was sent outside. To her delight, there was a shiny silver box to snatch off the table to gnaw on and toss about.  And since it was dark out there I failed to notice anything amiss.

Hubby found it the next morning. He was not happy with either Ziva or myself. The limited warranty did not include puppy destruction, much to my dismay.

Being his sweet, forgiving (and handsome) self – he bought me a new camera, again. It is sitting under my computer monitor, right in front of my face.  When I have read the user manual – I have to download the PDF of course, manufacturers are too cheap to send you a real one – I can then set up the multitude of settings. Then, maybe I will be able to take some photos.  Sheesh!

I will tuck my nifty new camera inside a drawer where we keep cameras. It will be safe there.

Until puppy learns how to pull open drawers.  😉

 

 

No, NO, This Cannot Be So! 

ThingOneAndTwoWhen you read the title just now, did it bring on Dr. Seuss flashbacks?  Oh. Me neither.

I counted on the beginning of 2015 letting me return to my (not so normal) routine. I put off a multitude of responsibilities, until “the holiday’s are over and the kids (along with grand-kids & dogs) leave.”  Of course I love when they are here, and I have no aversion to their hanging around for awhile. But…

I have difficulty, when others are around with anything that requires using my brain. I am very easily distracted. I can’t concentrate, even if my iPod is playing my favorite music. I need silence, and no distractions… so there is no way I can function now.  The talking. The constant, too loud, TV that is playing kid movies – that kids are not watching because they can’t sit still. Man programs involving souped-up cars, snakes, some other crazy pointless crap stuff, or my personal favorite (not!), mindless channel surfing.

I am stressed and losing my mind, only able to hang on because tomorrow – I will have my house back to myself.  Blissful, uninterrupted,  quiet!  This made me nervous in a “too good to be true” way, if you know what I mean. My intuition tried to warn me, but of course, I ignored it.

Hubby gets a call from his out-of-town buddy who is coming into town Monday – and wants (of course) to stay here for three nights.  CrazyLadyWithShotgun

“Is that OK with you?” He asks me, after writing the days his buddy is  staying, on our calendar.

Sigh² Oh Goody.  I get to spend the next two days with my washer & dryer and my kitchen sink & stove. I will plan menus, then grocery shop. Don’t let me forget to scrub the guest bathroom, change linens & clean the main guest room. All of this runs through my head in seconds, as I stare speechless at hubby.

“Sure,” I answer, and I’m smiling, because in that very moment, I plummeted over the edge (of sanity).

TTFN ♥,

Jodi

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

* Sigh² [sigh squared]  A term using emotional math. It means a long, loud, eye-rolling, sigh of complete annoyment .

Annoyment [an noy’ mint] adverb. From the root word ‘annoy’: a state of annoyance achieved by an individual. (Taken from The Dictionary of Words That Should Exist, 1st Ed. 2013)